Skip to main content

Shipping industry calls for release of Galaxy Leader crew still held captive


Today - Monday 19 February 2024 – marks the three-month anniversary since the Houthis seized the Galaxy Leader and its 25 seafarers in the Red Sea. The vessel, a roll-on/roll-off vehicle carrier, was seized on the 19 November. The maritime industry has joined together from around the world to express their concern for the seafarers who have been held hostage, and call on the Houthis to release the crew of the Galaxy Leader. 

“The 25 seafarers who make up the crew of the Galaxy Leader are innocent victims of the ongoing aggression against world shipping, and their plight is a major concern as the merchant shipping community continues to come under attack.

“All efforts must be made by international organisations and States to secure the release of the seafarers.”

“It is abhorrent that seafarers were seized by military forces and that they have been kept from their families and loved ones for too long. All 25 crew members of the Galaxy Leader must be released now”.

Please kindly see below the full list of co-signatories to this statement.

Asian Shipowners Association (ASA) - Yuichi Sonoda, ASA Secretary General

Asociación de Navieros Españoles (ANAVE) - Elena Seco, Director General

Bahamas Shipowners Association - Domenico Rognoni, Chairman

BIMCO - David Loosley, Secretary General & CEO

Chamber of Marine Commerce - Bruce Burrows, President & CEO 

Chamber of Shipping of America - Kathy J Metcalf, President

Confitarma - Mario Zanetti, President

Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) - Kelly Craighead, President & CEO

Cyprus Shipping Chamber - Thomas Kazakos, Director General 

Danish Shipping - Anne H. Steffensen, Director General & CEO

European Community Shipowners’ Association (ECSA) - Sotiris Raptis, Secretary General

FONASBA (The Federation of National Associations of Ship Brokers and Agents) - Javier Dulce, President

IFSMA - Jim Scorer, Secretary General

InterManager - Capt. Kuba Szymanski, Secretary General

International Association of Ports & Harbors (IAPH) - Patrick Verhoeven, Managing Director

International Chamber of Shipping - Guy Platten, Secretary General 

International Christian Maritime Association - Dr. Jason Zuidema, General Secretary

International Marine Contractors Association (IMCA) - Iain Grainger, CEO

International Maritime Employers’ Council (IMEC) - Francesco Gargiulo, Chief Executive Officer

International Parcel Tankers Association (IPTA) - Manish Jain, Chairman

International Transport Workers’ Federation (ITF) - Stephen Cotton, General Secretary

Japanese Shipowners’ Association (JSA) - Toshiya Morishige, Director General  

Liberian Shipowners’ Council Ltd (LSC) - Kierstin Del Valle Lachtman, Secretary General

Norwegian Shipowners’ Association (NSA) - Harald Solberg, CEO 

Royal Association of Netherlands Shipowners (KVNR) - Annet Koster, Managing Director

Swiss Shipowners Association (SSA) - Eric André, President 

The Seamen’s Church Institute - The Rev. Mark Nestlehutt, President & Executive Director

UK Chamber of Shipping - Sarah Treseder, CEO

World Shipping Council (WSC) - John W. Butler, President and CEO