INTERNATIONAL TRANSPORT WORKERS' FEDERATION

44th Congress Singapore, 18 October 2018 Inland Navigation Section Conference

REPORT

The Inland Navigation Conference took place on 18 October 2018.

Agenda Item 1: Adoption of Agenda

The Conference adopted the agenda, as presented.

Agenda Item 2: Election of Rapporteur

Cinthia Magali Diaz (Argentina) was elected Rapporteur. Richard Crease (Great Britain) and Ivan de la Guardia (Panama) were elected Scrutineers. Vadim Ivanov (Russia) and Maya Schwiegershausen-Güth (Germany) were elected Tellers.

Agenda Item 3: Congress Theme Document

The General Secretary gave a presentation on the Congress Theme Document, which focused on the Section's priorities. The debate in regards to the Congress Theme Document was taken in conjunction with Agenda item 4, work programme.

The Conference adopted the Congress Theme Document, as presented.

Agenda Item 4: Work Programme

The Maritime Coordinator provided an update of the Section's programme, as follows:

- Growing and activating membership;
- Innovative campaign; and
- Global and regional policy.

The Assistant Section Secretary provided an update on the Section's areas of focus, as follows:

- Tug boat network;
- River Cruise campaigns; and
- Social security and health and safety.

The Conference **adopted** the section related priorities for 2019-2023, as presented.

Agenda Item 5: Motions

The Conference considered the motions referred by the Resolutions Committee, as follows:

Motion 1: River Cruise Campaign 2.0

The Conference **adopted** the motion, as presented.

Motion 12: Improved international and regional Labour, Welfare and Safety Standards for IN Crews in developing Countries

The Conference **adopted** the motion with amendment 1 as presented.

Motion 20: Improving the Effectiveness of the Work of the Inland Navigation Section

The Conference **adopted** the motion, as presented.

Motion 24: Tugboats and Towboats

The Conference **adopted** the motion with amendment 1 as presented.

Agenda item 6: Elections

The following were elected by the Conference:

Chair	Yuri Sukhorukov, SUR, Russia
Vice Chair (Asia/Pacific)	Ashiqul Alam Chowdhury, BNSF, Bangladesh
Vice Chair (Europe)	Joris Kerkhofs, ACV Transcom, Belguim
Vice Chair (Latin America/Caribbean	Julio Gonzalez Insafran, CPOFPCM, Argentina
Vice Chair (North America)	Terri Mast, ILWU, USA
Women Transport Workers' Representative	Valerie Latron, CFDT, France
Young Transport Workers' Representative	Cinthia Diaz, CPOFPCM, Argentina

The Conference **agreed** the composition of the Inland Navigation Section Officers, attached as **Annex 1**.

Agenda Item 7: Any other business

Gold Award

A Gold Award was presented to the outgoing Chair, Nick Bramley, by ITF General Secretary for outstanding service to the cause of transport workers internationally, in defence and furtherance of the interests of those workers, and for the preservation of trade union freedoms and rights.

INLAND NAVIGATION SECTION OFFICERS As of 18 October 2018

Section Officers	
Chair	Yuri Sukhorukov, SUR, Russia
Vice Chair (Asia/Pacific)	Ashiqul Alam Chowdhury, BNSF, Bangladesh
Vice Chair (Europe)	Joris Kerkhofs, ACV Transcom, Belguim
Vice Chair (Latin America/Caribbean	Julio Gonzalez Insafran, CPOFPCM, Argentina
Vice Chair (North America)	Terri Mast, ILWU, USA
Women Transport Workers' Representative	Valerie Latron, CFDT, France
Young Transport Workers' Representative	Cinthia Diaz, CPOFPCM, Argentina
Africa/Arab World	
Chair	Vacant
Arab World	
Chair	Vacant
Asia/Pacific	
Chair	Ashiqul Alam Chowdhury, BNSF, Bangladesh
ETF Inland Waterways Section	
Chair	Joris Kerkhofs, ACV Transcom, Belguim
Vice Chair & Women's Representative	Valerie Latron, FGTE-CFDT, France
Vice Chair & Youth Representative	Luka Misic, SPH, Croatia
Vice Chair & Social Dialogue Chair	Jacques Kerkhof, BTB, Belgium
Latin America/Caribbean	
Chair	Julio Gonzalez Insfran, CPOFPCM, Argentina
Vice Chair	Ricardo Ponzi, CONTTMAF, Brazil
Vice Chair	Daniel Hevia, FBTTT, Venezuela